Jordan Lockwood

Jordan’s Bio:

Bio
My name is Jordan Lockwood and I am a 16yr old rising High School Senior.  I currently live in Franklin, TN and train in Huntsville, AL.  I am an International FEI Junior Dressage Rider and USDF Bronze Medalist. Through months of training and showing I received respectable scores in the FEI Junior division getting 66+% all the way to a 76%!  I was the Regional Youth Team Competition High Point Champion where I was nominated for the Youth Shining Star Award!  My Horse Wonderboy, a 14yr old imported KWPN Gelding by Gribaldi and I were able to make the Region 3 NAJYRC Junior Dressage team where we placed 5th as a team and were in the top 18 individually!  I am Currently working toward earning my USDF Silver Medal and plan on wintering in Wellington FL for the 2018 season!  You can follow me on my Instagram and Facebook page @jordanlockwooddressage.
1) . What is the most inspiring thing to have ever happened to you while riding?
 I have had a lot of inspiring moments throughout my riding but I would have to say recently competing at NAJYRC.  I was in the warm-up arena getting ready to go in for my ride and as I was entering underneath the bridge/pavilion I looked around and noticed everyone supporting me when my name was announced as I rode around the arena saying hello to these International FEI judges.  I thought WOW! I made it here to this incredible competition and this is my dream coming true!  That’s when I really realized I wanted to make this into a career and go as far as I possibly can!
2) When did you fall in love with Dressage?
 I was 11 years old when I fell in love with Dressage! I used to Jump and then my Mom suggested I should try Dressage, so I did and have loved it ever since!

3) What is your day like at the barn?
I keep my horse at home so I do all the work/caring myself such as feeding, mucking, filling water buckets, nightcheck, cleaning, getting Wonderboy ready for turnout and I also maintain the paddocks and drag my Dressage arena!  I ride 5-6 days a week and will usually ride in the morning or evening depending on my schedule and weather!

4)  How much time do you spend on your warm-up of your horse?
I usually spend 15-25 minutes working on getting him loose and stretching over his back.  I like to walk for at least 10 minutes, then I’ll go to trot and do lots of serpentines, bending lines and some circles.  I’ll then go to canter to do some transitions extending forward and collecting the canter back.  I also do some circles and make a serpentine with counter canter where I like to counter bend and true bend him.. I think this exercise really helps him get loose over his topline, right after that I’ll do a flying change in both directions then I’ll give him a break.
5) Do you follow the Dressage Training Pyramid on a daily basis?
Yes I do, I think its a great training outline to follow for every rider.  I always make sure I have the ryhthm and relaxation first and then I’ll work on getting the connection with the other parts to follow; impulsion, straightness and collection throughout my ride.
6) What was the hardest lesson you have had to learn in your riding?
Being patient, You might have a set plan but it might not always go as planned so you just have to accept the circumstances and find a different route to get to your goal.  If you really want to do this sport you have to keep fighting and as hard as your situation might get you have to have faith and push through to get to where you want to be.  I have had so many different situations where I had a plan but stuff kept getting in the way.. I’ve had previous horses go lame, no trainer, no horse to ride, missed shows/clinics I wanted to do etc.. but I never gave up and always found a way to achieve to my goals that I had set for myself.  It’s all about perseverance and determination!
7) Who is your mentor and why?
I look up to Laura Graves because she bought Verdades as a foal and trained him up herself where she has become very successful at the highest level possible!
8) Do you have goals set each week for your lessons?
Yes, I always have a plan going into my lessons, I think it’s important to know what you need to work on because that’s the only way you will improve!
9)Do you volunteer at horse shows?
I have and plan to do so more in the future! I usually volunteer as a runner/ring steward.
 
11)Do you compete at horse shows and if so how often do you go?
Yes, this past year I showed quite a lot to qualify for NAJYRC.  We were showing every 2 weeks or so this past April to June and I just showed at NAJYRC in July!  I’m now focusing on training and plan on doing some shows this Fall to hopefully earn my USDF Silver Medal!
12)  Who are your grooms for you at your shows?
My parents! My Dad braids and my Mom helps me groom.
13) . Do you trail ride and how often?
 I like to walk around the creek side of our property after I’ve finished riding for our cool down and sometimes I take little trail rides around our property.
14)  What is your favorite musical freestyle you have seen?
My favorite would have to be Severo Jurado Lopez with Lorenzo freestyle at the 2016 Olympics and Michael Eilberg with Half Moon Delphi’s at the 2014 WEG Normandy.  I loved both of them because they are such soft riders and they both have an amazing partnership with their horses that you can really see through their freestyles.
15) If you could clinic or train with anyone in the world, who would it be?
 There are so many trainers that I would be honored to work with!  I think Carl Hester is a master and would love to ride with him!  I also would love to work with Steffen Peters!
16) What can you tell other junior riders about reaching their goals in dressage?
Patience, persistence and determination!  Never give up on your dreams because if you keep pushing through it WILL happen.  Don’t forget you are good enough and it is important to be positive, love what you do, love your horse, be grateful and thankful to your supporters, have a good attitude and try to be the best you can be!!
17) What is your horse’s personality like?
 My horse Wonderboy (who is for sale) is super funny and will pick anything up in his mouth such as chairs, water bottles and he likes to play with my hair!  He is the most loving, curious and playful horse I’ve ever owned.  WB loves to work and tries so hard to please me!  He is a true gentleman and always nickers when he sees me and begs for my attention and treats!  He likes apples, carrots, watermelon, peppermints, biscuit treats and food in general!
18) Please tell us who you would like to Thank for being your best supporters:
 I would like to thank my trainers in the past who have helped me and my current trainer.  I also want to thank everyone who has supported me for my recent trip to NAJYRC.  Of course my amazing parents who have helped me live my dreams and have always supported me through my ups and downs in my riding endeavors!
19) What is your favorite quote that you love and want to share with others?
“Through faith I overcame my fears and found the strength to keep fighting toward my dreams”
Thank you!
Jordan Lockwood